Smokin' Krzykowski takes the Golden Sands feature win!!

By Amy Kolo

July 3, 1998; Plover, WI: -  The 3rd Annual Union Night fireworks show brought it’s biggest crowd for the season to Golden Sands. Over 1600 people were in attendance.

Smokin' Joe Krzykowski worked his way to the front of the evening CWRA Late Model feature event, and once there held off his rivals to pick up the win.  That victory allowed Kryzkowski to take over the top spot in the current point standings at Golden Sands Speedway.

During the late model feature Wayne Cottrell jumped into the lead. Mark Mackesy was right behind him, vying for the lead. With Smokin’ Joe in the third position. Fast Timer Brian Back was trying to make his way to the front of the pack to take home the $1,200.00 Hot n’ Now Ultimate Challenge Purse. Cottrell, Mackesy, and Krzykowski stayed in their positions up until lap 17 when the yellow was thrown for debris on the track. Track personnel started checking on who was leaking oil.

Cottrell soon went off the track with motor problems. This gave Smokin’ Joe the chance to take the top position, with Mackesy hot on his heels in second. Sam Brundidge slammed into the third position at the restart. Kirby Kurth also started coming up the pack to work on the top positions. For the next 10 laps Smokin’ Joe and Mackesy battled it out. Joe ended up with the win with Mackesy in second, and Brundidge in third.

Wire to wire winner!  Andy Simonis got out front of the Super Stock feature on the opening lap and then survived a late race yellow with is head intact to score the feature win.  sands9811b.jpg (13784 bytes)

Super Stock feature had Andy Simonis in the lead to start. Cary Lyons quickly moved into the second position. With Alan Sankey slamming his way into third. By lap ten Randy Storlie was able to move past Sankey and Lyons for the third position. Simonis hung onto the lead. Fast runner, Judd Brandl started making his way up the to the front moving around the slower cars.

With five laps to go a spin came out on lap 21, between Greg Back and Mike Doughty. At the green flag, Simonis was able to stay in his lead. Gary Wosick was quickly coming to the top to work on the top positions, but there just wasn’t enough laps left in the race. Simonis took the checkered, with Storlie in second, and Brandl in third.

The pure stock feature was canceled do to the weather. Golden Sands will run the feature on July 10, 1998 during the 2nd Annual Clement Pappas Cranberry Processing Night at the races.

Golden Sands Speedway is a hig-banked 1/3 mile oval, located bwtween Wisconsin Rapids and Plover, WI, on highway 54.  Time Trials for the program start at 6:30 p.m. with racing at 7:45 p.m.  Each week the show features CWRA Late Models, Super Stocks and Pure Stocks with many added special events.  For those special nights please consult our schedule.

CWRA Late Model Division
30 Lap Feature Event Time Trials
1. #77 Joe Krzykowski 1. #98 Brian Back 12.908 Secs.
2. #12 Mark Macksey 2. #21 Rex Rossier 12.951 Secs.
3. # 7 Sam Brindidge 3. # 7 Sam Brundidge 12.966 Secs.
4. #85 Kirby Kurth 4. #26 Gary Back 12.967 Secs.
5. #18 Mike Brahmstedt 5. #77 Joe Kryzkowski  12.985 Secs.
6. # 3 Jeff Weinfurter Dash
7. #21 Rex Rossier 1. #77 Joe Kryzkowski
8. #31 Bobby Turzinski 2. #26 Gary Back
9. #55 Mike Budleski 3. #21 Rex Rossier
10. #26 Gary Back

Semi-Feature: 1.) Turzinski; 2.) Robert Stolze; 3.) Chris Wimmer; 4.) Dean LaPointe; 5.) Steve Gress; 6.) Keith Witt
First Heat: 1.) Bob Macksey; 2.) Jack Greenwood; 3.) Chad Devine
Second Heat: 1.) Mark Macksey; 2.) Gress; 3.) Budleski
Third 10 Lap Heat: 1.) Brahmstedt; 2.) Kurth; 3.) Kryzkowski

CWSSA Super Stock Division
25 Lap Feature Event Time Trials
1. #91 Andy Simonis 1. #61 Gary Wosick 13.926 Secs.
2. #53 Randy Storlie 2. #52 Mike Doughty 14.019 Secs.
3. #27 Judd Brandl 3. #17 Jason Syzmkowiak 14.045 Secs.
4. #61 Gary Wosick 4. #27 Judd Brandl 14.106 Secs.
5. #17 Jason Syzmkowiak 5. #99 Jason Kirsling 14.180 Secs.
6. #99 Jason Kirsling Dash
7. #80 Tim Plowman 1. #99 Jason Kirsling
8. #24 Merlin Weinfurter 2. #17 Jason Szymkowiak
9. #82 Cary Lyons 3. #61 Gary Wosick
10. #24 Keith Bohmsach

Semi-Feature: 1.) Darwin Bruno; 2.) Bohmsach; 3.) Jim Cormack; 4.) Matthew Wisz; 5.) David Pagels
First Heat: 1.) Jeff Stroik; 2.) Pagels; 3.) John Bell
Second Heat: 1.) Cormack; 2.) Bohmsach; 3.) Dustin Brillowski
Third Heat: 1.) Alan Sansky; 2.) Storlie; 3.) Weinfurter

Pure Stock Division
20 Lap Feature Event Time Trials

Cancelled due to rain..feature
to be run next week


First Heat:
Second Heat: