Rookie Wimmer scores again in Late Model action
at Goldan Sands Speedway!

By Amy Kolo

August 14, 1998; Plover, WI: -  All drivers were once again trying for new track records on the freshly resurfaced track on Carquest Night at the races. The pure stock track record was shattered by Brad Scholze. Jason Kirsling walked away with the new super stock track record. Fast time in the late models was held by Brian Back, who also took the Hot n’ Now Ultimate challenge, a large sum of $1,800.00!

sands9817a.jpg (21452 bytes) sands9817e.jpg (10945 bytes)
Hot Rookie!  Chris Wimmer earned his second CWRA Late Model feature win of the season at Golden Sands Speedway!
Wimmer took the lead from Mike Brahmsted with only a hand full of laps remaining and then held off his rivals to score the win. Winning a Late Model feature on the challenging third mile high banked oval is challenging enough to to win a pair in a single season as a rookie is indeed an accomplishment to be proud of.

Brian Lambie took the early lead in the late model feature. Mike Brahmsted was in the second position working on Lambie for the lead. By lap 9 Brahmsted maneuvered his way around Lambie for the lead. On lap 10 a spin occurred between Todd Stapleman and Kirby Kurth, sending both drivers to the back. This gave Chris Wimmer the opportunity to come into the second position, giving Lambie the third position.

Wimmer worked hard on Brahmsted, but Brahmsted was not going to give up his lead. On the 24th lap Wimmer finally got around Brahmsted. Greg Weinfurter started putting the pedal to the medal and started making his way up to the front. On the checkered flag lap Weinfurter pulled ahead of Brahmsted for the second position. Wimmer took the checkered with Weinfurter in second and Brahmsted in third. Brian Back finished fourth. Brian Lambie fell ill after the late model feature, all our prayers and hearts go out to him.

sands9817b.jpg (17173 bytes)
Jason Szymkowiak (#17) worked to the high side of Jim Wojick (#33) on his way to the front of the Super Stock feature.
Szymkowiak finds himself in a tight points battle in the Super Stock division as the weeks wind down.   He is currently chasing Jason Kirlsing who sits atop the standings.  Both Szymkowiak and Kirsling are chasing their first championship at Golden Sands Speedway and which ever driver wins they will have earned it.

Scott Hamel zoomed out in the lead during the super stock feature. Jim Wojick was nipping at his heels him. By lap 9 fast runner Jason Szymkowiak came from the middle of the pack to start working on the leaders. Szymkowiak made his way around Wojick and started to work on Hamel.

Wojick started losing positions, as Tim Plowman started making his move to the front. By lap 15 Szymkowiak flew past Hamel for the top position. Hamel and Szymkowiak started gaining car lengths from the back of the pack. Szymkowiak took the checkered with Hamel in second, and Plowman in third.

sands9817c.jpg (10930 bytes) sands9817d.jpg (10122 bytes)
Holding the hardware in the left photo, is Pure Stock feature winner Marv Flick, while the group photo above shows the winning ride of Blenker and Kampert in Cruiser action.

Anney T took the lead in the pure stock feature. She was running hard, until a caution came out on lap 7 with too many cars in the back trying to go four wide. At the restart Marv Flick took the lead. Anney T soon lost the second position to Curt Blenker. Anney and Blenker kept switching positions back and fourth. As the checkered fell Flick finished in first, with Anney in second, and Blenker in third.

The cruisers took the field tonight for a spectacular show. The crowd went wild over all the banging and crashing. Blenker and Kampert took the checkered with Williams and Hemlick in second, Wedde and Cayer took third.

Golden Sands Speedway is a high-banked 1/3 mile oval, located between Wisconsin Rapids and Plover, WI, on highway 54.  Time Trials for the program start at 6:30 p.m. with racing at 7:45 p.m.  Each week the show features CWRA Late Models, Super Stocks and Pure Stocks with many added special events.  For those special nights please consult our schedule.

CWRA Late Model Division
30 Lap Feature Event Time Trials
1. #52 Chris Wimmer 1. #98 Brian Back 12.387 Secs.
2. #13 Greg Weinfurter 2. # 3 Jeff Weinfurter 12.391 Secs.
3. #18 Mike Brahmstedt 3. #67 Keith Witt 12.446 Secs.
4. #98 Brian Back 4. #52 Chris Wimmer  12.473 Secs.
5. #77 Joe Krzykowski 5. #85 Kirby Kurth 12.498 Secs.
6. #79 Brian Lambie
7. #66 Troy Nelson
8. # 3 Jeff Weinfurter
9. #77 Todd Stapleman
10. #67 Keith Witt

Semi-Feature: 1.) Garret Fait; 2.) Mark Mackesy; 3.) Wayne Cottrell; 4.) Larry Lepak; 5.) Eric Getzloff; 6.) Rene Scheinoha
First Heat: 1.) Fait; 2.) Jeremy Lepak; 3.) Getzloff
Second Heat: 1.) Bobby Turzinski; 2.) Scheinoha; 3.) Cottrell
Third 10 Lap Heat: 1.) Greg Weinfurter; 2.) Stapleman; 3.) Brahmstedt
Dash: 1.) Kurth; 2.) Witt; 3.) Wimmer

CWSSA Super Stock Division
25 Lap Feature Event Time Trials
1. #17 Jason Szymokwiak 1. #99 Jason Kirsling  13.618 Secs.
2. #78 Scott Hamel 2. #27 Judd Brandl 13.630 Secs.
3. #80 Tim Plowman 3. #61 Gary Wosick 13.674 Secs.
4. #61 Gary Wosick 4. #52 Mike Doughty   13.699 Secs.
5. #99 Jason Kirsling 5. #91 Andy Simonis 13.775 Secs.
6. #27 Judd Brandl
7. #53 Randy Storlie

New Track Record Established

8. #91 Andy Simonis
9. #24 Keith Bohmsach
10. #24 Merlin Weinfurter

Semi-Feature: 1.) Allan Sansky; 2.) Wesley Krause; 3.) John Bell; 4.) Matt Wisz; 5.) David Pagels; 6.) Cary Lyons
First Heat: 1.) Sansky; 2.) Bell; 3.) Lyons
Second Heat: 1.) James Wojcik; 2.) Plowman; 3.) Weinfurter
Third Heat: 1.) Storlie; 2.) Wosick; 3.) Simonis
Dash: 1.) Wosick; 2.) Kirsling; 3.) Brandl

Pure Stock Division
20 Lap Feature Event Time Trials
1. # 9 Marv Flick 1. #78 Bradley Scholze  14.929 Secs.
2. #15 Anney Turzinski 2. #40 Shawn Stelzer 14.989 Secs.
3. # 4 Curt Blenker 3. # 7 Brian Stroik 15.104 Secs.
4. # 8 Jim Stratton
5. # 7 Todd Radtke New Track Record Established
6. # 7 Brian Stroik
7. #22 Michael Brooks
8. #26 Jeffrey Gruber

First Heat: 1.) Brooks; 2.) Turzinski; 3.) Gruber
Second Heat: 1.) Flick; 2.) Blenker; 3.) Stratton
Dash: 1.) Radtke; 2.) Stratton; 3.) Stelzer


Event: 1.) Blenker/Kampert; 2.)Williams/Hemlick; 3.)Wedde/Cayer