Rex Rossier wins 'Sands Sesquicentennial Race!!

By Amy Kolo

May 29, 1998; Plover, WI: - To celebrate 150 years of Wisconsin's Statehood, Golden Sands Speedway held it's Sesquicentennial Race Friday.  The racing action was great along with a fabulous fireworks display after the races. Jeff Weinfurter was fast time once again and opted to take the Hot N' Now Ultimate Challenge.  The pot is now up to $700!

sands986a.jpg (13131 bytes) Feature win number one!! Rex Rossier, scored his first CWRA Late Model feature win of the season at Golden Sands Speedway.   Rossier took the lead from Bobby Turzinski with just five laps remaining in the event, to score the win.

During the Late Model feature Bobby T started out with the lead.   Mike Budleski and Joe Krzykowski were right behind him.  The top three stayed pretty much the same until a caution came out on lap 16 for an incident between Sam Brundidge and Greg Weinfurter.  Brundidge is not having good luck this year.  He has ripped the sheet metal off the driver's side of the car the past two weeks.  Jeff Weinfurter meanwhile has been slowly coming up from the back of the pack trying to win the Challenge monies.

At the restart of the race Rex Rossier was able to get around Krzykowski for the third position.  Weinfurter has made it up to seventh position by this time.   Budleski got loose coming out of turn three giving second position to Krzykowski with Rossier dropping back to fourth.  Weinfurter had now advanced another position into sixth.  On lap 23, Budleski got loose again, giving Rossier the chance to fly around Krzykowski into the second position.  With five short laps to go Rossier was able to get around Turzinski for the lead.  On the last green flag lap Krzykowski snuck around Truzinski for the second position.  Rossier took the checkered with Krzykowski in second, Truzinski in third and Jeff Weinfurter ended up finishing fifth.

Greg Gustin, took advantage of the new CWSSA Super Stock rules, which allows truck bodies to be put on their race cars. Gustin, who drives one of these truck bodied racers put his ride out front early and held on to score his first Super Stock feature win of 1998. sands986b.jpg (10677 bytes)

The ground pounding sound of the super trucks in the Super Stock class showed their colors tonight.  Greg Gustin's truck took an early lead in the super stock feature. Cary Lyons followed right behind him with Scott Hamel quickly coming up.   Fast runner Jason Kirsling started fighting his way up to the front of the pack.   Gustin was able to start pulling away from the rest of the pack.  He was almost to the point of lapping cars, when a caution came out on lap 19.  It looked like Wes Krause was laying down oil on the track, but it only ended up being water.

Kirsling was able to slip into second position by this point.  Judd Brandl who won last weeks feature, which put him at the back of the feature for this weeks lineup.  If there had been just a few more laps in the race, Brandl maybe would have won this week, from the back of the pack.  With five laps to go the top racers battled it out.  Gustin took the checkered in his truck, with Kirsling in second and Brandl in third.  Of course Brandl took the Hot Dog of the Night award with him for his excellent racing.

sands986c.jpg (9393 bytes) Shawn Stelzer the current pure stock point leader, added a bit to his point lead when he took the win in the Pure Stock main on Sesquicentennial night at Golden Sands Speedway.

Jeff Gruber pulled ahead in the lead during the pure stock feature.   Todd Radtke was right behind him, with Reed Rossier right behind Todd.  On lap 7, Radtke got loose and fell back a few positions, allowing fast time Shawn Stelzer to start moving up from the back of the pack.  Fast runner Jim Stratton was stuck in behind slower cars.  By  lap 9, Stelzer had made his way to the front.   With four laps to go, Radtke was able to find power again and maneuver his way around Gruber for the second spot.  Stelzer placed first, with Radtke in second and Gruber in third.

CWRA Late Model Division
30 Lap Feature Event Time Trials
1. #21 Rex Rossier 1. # 3 Jeff Weinfurter 12.802 Secs.
2. #77 Joe Krzykowski 2. #21 Rex Rossier 12.805 Secs.
3. #31 Bobby Turzinski 3. #98 Brian Back 12.857 Secs.
4. #67 Keith Witt 4. #13 Greg Weinfurter  12.997 Secs.
5. # 3 Jeff Weinfurter 5. # 7 Sam Brundidge 13.104 Secs.
6. #12 Mark Mackesy Dash
7. #85 Kirby Kurth 1. # 7 Sam Brundidge
8. #98 Brian Back 2. #13 Greg Weinfurter
9. # 5 Rene Scheinoha 3. #21 Rex Rossier
10. #28 Wayne Cottrell

Semi-Feature: 1.) Jeremy Lepak; 2.) Kurth; 3.) Mike Ntahmstedt; 4.) Chris Wimmer; 5.) Brian Seubert
First Heat: 1.) Jeremy Lepak; 2.) Wimmer; 3.) Garret Fait
Second Heat: 1.) Dean LaPointe; 2.) Mike Brahmstedt; 3.) Kurth
Third 10 Lap Heat: 1.) Cottrell; 2.) Witt; 3.) Mackesy

CWSSA Super Stock Division
25 Lap Feature Event Time Trials
1. #44 Greg Gustin 1. #53 Randy Storlie 14.011 Secs.
2. #99 Jason Kirsling 2. #61 Gary Wosick 14.039 Secs.
3. #27 Judd Brandl 3. #17 Jason Szymkowiak 14.051 Secs.
4. #82 Cary Lyons 4. #27 Judd Brandl 14.069 Secs.
5. #78 Scott Hamel 5. #62 Greg Back 14.140 Secs.
6. #24 Merle Weinfurter Dash
7. #62 Greg Back 1. #27 Judd Brandl
8. #61 Gary Wosick 2. #62 Greg Back
9. #53 Randy Storlie 3. #17 Jason Szymkowiak
10. #91 Andy Simonis

Semi-Feature: 1.) John Bell; 2.) Tim Plowman; 3.) Larry Braunsky; 4.) Keith Bohmsach; 5.) Jim Cormack
First Heat: 1.) Bell; 2.) Braunsky; 3.) Bernie Faitz Jr.
Second Heat: 1.) Cormack;
Third Heat: 1.) Results not available

Pure Stock Division
20 Lap Feature Event Time Trials
1. #40 Shawn Stelzer 1. #40 Shawn Stelzer 15.219 Secs.
2. # 7 Todd Radtke 2. #22 Reed Rossier 15.421 Secs.
3. #26 Jeffrey Gruber 3. #41 Cal Greening 15.429 Secs.
4. #22 Reed Rossier Dash
5. # 8 Jim Stratton 1. # 7 Todd Radtke
6. #41 Cal Greening 2. #26 Curtis Turner
7. #26 Curtis Turner 3. #41 Cal Greening
8. #42 Roland Kuhn

Semi-Feature: 1.) Marv Flick; 2.) Mike Brooks; 3.) Brian Stroik; 4.) Anney Turzinski;
First Heat: 1.) Fick; 2.) Brooks; 3.) Stroik
Second Heat: 1.) Stratton; 2.) Kuhn; 3.) Robert Scholze