Rex Rossier wins Second Straight CWRA Late Model main at Sands in Nabbafeldt Memorial!

By Amy Kolo

June 5, 1998; Plover, WI: - With the Nabbafeldt Memorial Race taking place Golden Sands Speedway held it’s usual late model 55 lap feature.

Larry Lepak started out the night with fast time and opting for the Hot N’ Now Ultimate Challenge which has now grown to $800.00. At the start of the race Mike Budleski was quick to take the lead, but by the fourth lap Keith Witt sped around him. Witt kept the lead until a yellow came out on lap ten. At the restart Joe Krzykowski took the lead.

sands987a.jpg (14676 bytes) Rex Rossier scores two in a row!!  Rossier who last week topped the CWRA Late Model feature, came back this week and scored his second straight win in the Lyle Nabbafeldt Memorial 55 lap feature race.  Shown in victory lane with Rossier are relatives of the late Lyle Nabbafeldt, who lost his life in a racing accident at another track.  Nabbafeldt was a regular ate many central Wisconsin race tracks.

Since Rex Rossier won the feature last week, he had to start in the back of the pack this week. Didn’t seem to matter though, because already by lap 11, he was in the third position working on the leaders. Kryzkowski, Witt and Rossier battled it out. Rossier finally found the speed to get around Witt for the second position. Brian Back came from the near back of the pack to start working on the leaders also.

Heading into the evenings racing program,  Jeff Weinfurter (#3) held the CWRA Late Model point lead.  However this crash in the feature event, knocked Weinfurter out of the running as well as the point lead.   Weinfurter is now third in the standings behind point leader Joe Krzykowski and Rex Rossier. sands987b.jpg (9668 bytes)

By lap 33, lapped traffic became involved. But the top four kept their positions. Suddenly on lap 43 Brian Back pushed it a little to hard and spun coming out of turn two. This gave the fourth position to Mike Budleski. With just five laps to go, Rossier was able to get around Krzykowski for the lead. Rossier took the checkered, with Krzykowski in second, and Witt in third. While Budleski and Mike Brahmstedt rounded out the top five finishers.

Judd Brandl started out on top during the Super Stock feature. With another fast runner Jason Kirsling right behind him, and Jason Szymkowiak right behind Kirsling. All the fast timers were caught in the back behind slower traffic.

sands987c.jpg (11577 bytes) sands987d.jpg (8840 bytes)
Different luck in the Super Stocks!  In the left photo, Jason Kirsling celebrates a well earned feature win which closed him to within three points of the point lead.   In the right photo, Greg Back didn't fare as well, going off course and hitting the wall.

It looked like two separate races taking place, the top three positions battling it out in front, then a few car lengths back, the rest of the back trying to fight around each other. Randy Storlie started coming from the rear to work on the leaders. By lap18, Judd Brandl was shown the move over flag. Brandl however never moved over an with three laps to go a yellow was thrown and Brandl was placed two car positions back for not obeying the flags. This gave way to Kirsling to get the top position. But Brandl fought him hard for it. It looked like Brandl was still going to take the win, but Kirsling held on hard for the checkered, Brandl took second, with Randy Storlie in third.

Another awesome pure stock feature! Anney Turninzki took the lead early in the race, with every one slicing and dicing behind them. Fast runners from the back of the pack did not take long to reach the front positions and start fight for the lead.

sands987e.jpg (11955 bytes) Jim Stratton made it to victory lane for the second time in the evening's program when he captured the feature race.  Earlier he won his heat event.  Stratton, was prevented from a clean sweep when he failed to set fast time.  He was second quick to Shawn Stelzer.

Fast timer and new track record holder Shawn Stelzer’s car broke during the middle of the race and went into the infield. By lap ten, second fast timer Jim Stratton had already come from the back of the pack and started making the moves on Anney T. With four laps left Stratton finally got around Anney for the lead, at the same time Cal Greening was also able to sneak around Anney for the second position. Stratton took the checkered with Greening in second and Anney T in third. 

CWRA Late Model Division
55 Lap Nabbafeldt Memorial Feature Event Time Trials
1. #21 Rex Rossier 1. #41 Larry Lepak 12.795 Secs.
2. #77 Joe Krzykowski 2. #98 Brian Back 12.857 Secs.
3. #67 Keith Witt 3. # 3 Jeff Weinfurter 12.865 Secs.
4. #55 Mike Budleski 4. #77 Joe Krzykowski 12.880 Secs.
5. #18 Mike Brahmstedt 5. #21 Rex Rossier 12.894 Secs.
6. #107.5 Monte Gress Dash
7. # 7 Sam Brundidge 1. #77 Joe Krzykowski
8. # 3 Jeff Weinfurter 2. #21 Rex Rossier
9. #98 Brian Back 3. # 3 Jeff Weinfurter
10. #66 Troy Nelson

Semi-Feature: 1.) Don Trapp; 2.) Jack Greenwood; 3.) Jeremy Lepak; 4.) Scott Beyer; 5.) Kirby Kurth
First Heat: 1.) Garret Fait; 2.) Trapp; 3.) Jeremy Lepak
Second Heat: 1.) Jason Weinkauf; 2.) Greg Weinfurter; 3.) Kurth
Third 10 Lap Heat: 1.) Gress; 2.) Brahmstedt; 3.) Krzykowski

CWSSA Super Stock Division
25 Lap Feature Event Time Trials
1. #99 Jason Kirsling 1. #24 Keith Bohmsach 13.848 Secs.
2. #27 Judd Brandl 2. #61 Gary Wosick 13.997 Secs.
3. #53 Randy Storlie 3. # 3 Alan Sansky 14.015 Secs.
4. #61 Gary Wosick 4. #62 Greg Back 14.041 Secs.
5. #17 Jason Szymkowiak 5. #91 Andy Simonis 14.071 Secs.
6. #24 Keith Bohmsach Dash
7. #44 Greg Gustin 1. #91 Andy Simonis
8. # 3 Alan Sansky 2. # 3 Alan Sansky
9. #01 Cale Laessig 3. #62 Greg Back
10. #91 Andy Simonis

Semi-Feature: 1.) Jeff Stroik; 2.) John Bell; 3.) David Pagels; 4.) Merle Weinfurter; 5.) Jim Marquard
First Heat: 1.) Scott Hamel; 2.) Stroik; 3.) Marquard
Second Heat: 1.) Matt Wisz; 2.) Wesley Krause; 3.) Tim Plowman
Third Heat: 1.) Szymkowiak; 2.) Larry Bruansky; 3.) Wosick

Pure Stock Division
20 Lap Feature Event Time Trials
1. # 8 Jim Stratton 1. #40 Shawn Stelzer 15.067 Secs.
2. #41 Cal Greening 2. # 8 Jim Stratton 15.150 Secs.
3. #15 Anney Turzinski 3. # 7 Todd Radtke 15.209 Secs.
4. # 7 Brian Stroik Dash
5. # 7 Todd Radtke 1. # 7 Brian Stroik
6. #26 Jeffrey Gruber 2. #40 Shawn Stelzer
7. # 4 Kurt Blenker 3. # 7 Todd Radtke
8. #26 Curtis Turner

First Heat: 1.) Brian Mielke; 2.) Marv Flick; 3.) Turner
Second Heat: 1.) Stratton; 2.) Stroik; 3.) Gruber