Brundidge takes the win during
the 4th Annual MAC Tools Night at Golden Sands!!

By Amy Kolo

June 12, 1998; Plover, WI: - With the Hot N’ Now Ultimate Challenge up to $900.00, every late model driver strived to earn fast time. Jeff Weinfurter walked away with fast time once again, and opted for the challenge.

sands988a.jpg (15915 bytes) Sam Brundidge is joined by his wife in victory lane after winning the CWRA Late Model feature event.  Brundidge who has been hampered by bad luck this season, put those hard times, as well as his fellow competitors behind him to score his first win of 1998 at Golden Sands Speedway.

Sam Brundidge took an early lead during the late model feature. Bobby T quickly got right behind him. That didn’t last long though, fast runner Keith Witt moved ahead and started on Bobby T. Witt and Bobby T changed positions a few times, but Bobby T came out the victor and held on to his second position. Weinfurter was slowly moving up from the back of the pack. Towards the end of the race, Kirby Kurth started to come to the front, around the slower cars.

With just five laps to go it was a dash to the finish. Brundidge held on tight to his lead, Witt, Bobby and Kurth battled it out. Kurth tried going three wide out of turn one, but Witt slammed the door on him. Finally, Witt got around Bobby for the second position. Brundidge took the checkered, with Witt in second and Bobby T in third. Kurth finished fourth.

Gary Wosick, was another driver who is working on turning his year around.  Wosick scored his first feature win of the year in the Super Stock division.  Wosick had also earlier set fast time in his division. sands988b.jpg (13508 bytes)

Dave Pagels shot out in the lead during the super stock feature. Scott Hamel was right behind him. Jim Cormack joined the front vying for a top position. Merle Weinfurter had started coming up to the front, until lap 11 when he had to leave the track with car problems. Hamel started loosing positions quite quickly.

This gave Jason Szymkowiak a chance to come to the front. Fast runners Gary Wosick and Keith Bohmsach were still stuck in the back behind slower cars. With just five laps to go Hamel’s engine blew, taking Keith Bohmsach with him. As the cars were realigning, Bohmsach was able to get his position back, since Hamel took all the blame for the wreck. Greg Gustin managed to get the front of the pack. On the last green flag lap Cormack and Bohmsach tangled. This gave a shot for Wosick to come to the front. On the white flag lap Wosick slammed on the gas and passed the top three positions! Wosick ended up with the checkered, Szymkowiak in second, and Gustin in third.

sands988c.jpg (11356 bytes) Completing the list of first time feature winners was Pure Stock driver Jeff Gruber, who took the lead early in the feature event and held on to score the victory.

Jeff Gruber took the lead in the pure stock feature, with his pal Curtis Turner right behind him. Turner and Curt Blenker started switching the second position back and fourth. All the fast runners were stuck in the back trying to charge to the front. Brand Scholze started making his way up the pack, along with Reed Rossier and Jim Stratton. By the white flag lap, Scholze was able to take the second position away from Turner. Gruber took the checkered, with Scholze in second and Turner in third.

Timed Event Winners!!

sands988f.jpg (6799 bytes) sands988e.jpg (7547 bytes) sands988d.jpg (7758 bytes)
All you need is a car, and you can compete in the Timed events at Golden Sands Speedway,  the evenings winners were; (from left); Paul Hognacki; Ron Witt and Cliff Schulist.

The ever popular Timed Event Races were back! With tons of tire smoke and many displays of power. Paul Hojnacki ended up with the win, Ron Witt took the second event and, and Cliff Schulist topped the third.

CWRA Late Model Division
30 Lap Feature Event Time Trials
1. # 7 Sam Brundidge 1. # 3 Jeff Weinfurter 12.813 Secs.
2. #67 Keith Witt 2. #21 Rex Rossier 12.967 Secs.
3. #31 Bobby Turzinski       3. #85 Kirby Kurth 12.984 Secs.
4. #85 Kirby Kurth 4. #77 Joe Krzykowski 13.043 Secs.
5. #41 Larry Lekak 5. #18 Mike Brahmstedt  13.064 Secs.
6. #77 Joe Krzykowski Dash
7. #28 Wayne Cottrell 1. #18 Mike Brahmstedt
8. #12 Mark Mackesy 2. #21 Rex Rossier
9. # 3 Jeff Weinfurter 3. #77 Joe Krzykowski
10. #15 Dean LaPointe

Semi-Feature: 1.) Neil Knoblock; 2.) Scott Beyer; 3.) Dean LaPointe; 4.) Robert Stolze; 5.) Steve Gress
First Heat: 1.) Beyer; 2.) Jack Greenwood; 3.) Greg Weinfurter
Second Heat: 1.) Jason Weinkauf; 2.) Jeremy Lepak; 3.) Stolze
Third 10 Lap Heat: 1.) Turzinski; 2.) Cottrell; 3.) Witt

CWSSA Super Stock Division
25 Lap Feature Event Time Trials
1. #61 Gary Wosick 1. #61 Gary Wosick 13.978 Secs.
2. #17 Jason Szymkowiak       2. #80 Tim Plowman 14.080 Secs.
3. #44 Greg Gustin 3. #24 Keith Bohmsach  14.098 Secs.
4. #99 Jason Kirsling 4. #99 Jason Kirlsing 14.115 Secs.
5. #409 David Pagels 5. #53 Randy Storlie 14.122 Secs.
6. #80 Tim Plowman Dash
7. #52 Mike Doughty 1. #53 Randy Storlie
8. #27 Judd Brandl 2. #99 Jason Kirsling
9. #53 Randy Storlie 3. #61 Gary Wosick
10. #24 Keith Bohmsach

Semi-Feature: 1.) John Bell; 2.) Jeff Stroik; 3.) Wesley Krause; 4.) Dale Robinson; 5.) Paul Meronk
First Heat: 1.) Bell; 2.) Robinson; 3.) Krause
Second Heat: 1.) Merle Weinfurter; 2.) Pagels; 3.) Tim Cormack
Third Heat: 1.) Szymkowiak; 2.) Brandl; 3.) Gustin

Pure Stock Division
20 Lap Feature Event Time Trials
1. #26 Jeffrey Gruber 1. # 7 Todd Radtke 15.316 Secs.
2. #78 Bradley Scholze 2. #78 Bradley Scholze 15.462 Secs.
3. #26 Curtis Turner 3. # 8 Jim Stratton 15.624 Secs.
4. # 8 Jim Stratton Dash
5. #22 Reed Rossier 1. # 8 Jim Statton
6. #40 Shawn Stelzer 2. # 7 Todd Radtke
7. # 7 Todd Radtke 3. #78 Bradley Scholze
8. # 4 Kurt Blenker

Semi-Feature: 1.) Stelzer; 2.) Tony Christman Jr; 3.) Anney Turzinski; 4.) Roland Kuhn; 5.) Brian Mielke
First Heat:
1.) Christman; 2.) Turzinski; 3.) Mielke
Second Heat: 1.) Gruber; 2.) Scholze; 3.) Turner

Timed Evenet Winners

Event:1) Paul Hojnacki; 2) Ron Witt; 3) Cliff Schulist