Wimmer takes Golden Sands Super Late main!!
By Amy Kolo

July 23, 1999; Plover, WI:  -  Families and their children, from all over the area came out to Golden Sands for the 5th Annual Kid’s Night at the races.  Congratulations to Justin Vruwink and Stephanie Ernst winners of the Wal-Mart Bikes, and Kaycee Van Swol and Jack Lane winners of the Miller Farms Bikes. 

Chris Wimmer (#52) became the 10th different winner in Super Late Model action at "Central Wisconsin's Power Playground" when he earned his first feature victory of the season. 72399d.jpg (18504 bytes)

Fast runner Jeremy Lepak turned fast time on the newly resurfaced track, opting to take the Hot n’ Now Ultimate Challenge, which was up to $300.00.  Jeremy was the first late model to take the Ultimate Challenge home three weeks ago, when the pot was up to $1600, and was looking to take the challenge home once again.   

72399b.jpg (12392 bytes) Jeremy Lepak (#40) has been on a roll of late earning fast time honors this evening.  He would later come back and finish a solid eighth in the main event.  A few short weeks ago he fast time and won the main event from the back to win the Hot N' Now challenge which was at $1,600!!

Chris Wimmer started out with the early lead on the first lap of the feature race.  A yellow came out on the very first lap as Chad Devine and Burton Brown tangled sending Devine into the wall coming out of turn one.  As the cars realigned, Wimmer kept his lead with Doug Drost and Kirby Kurth directly behind him.  MG Gajewski and Mark Eswein started moving up to the top stealing positions away from slower cars.  By lap six, Kurth was able to take the second position away from Drost.  Drost then stole it back on the very next lap.  Kurth started losing positions, as Eswein maneuvered his way for the third position. 

Gajewski started working on Kurth and was able to get around him on lap 20, along with Brown.  Kurth dropped further back.  Fast timer Jeremy Lepak started moving up from the back of the pack.  By lap 22, lapped traffic became an issue as cars started changing positions.  Mark Mackesy started closing in on the leaders, making his way to the front of the pack all the way from the rear.  By lap 27, Mackesy made it into the third position.  Mackesy then stole the second position away from Eswein and started working on Wimmer for the lead.  With just three laps to go, Wimmer was able to hang on to his first place position.  Mackesy finished an awesome second place all the way from the back of the pack.  Eswein took third, and Lepak ended up in eighth. 

Randy Storlie (#53) had a good evening in the CWSSA Super Stocks as he charged home to victory in the feature event.  Storlie led the race wire to wire. 72399e.jpg (15176 bytes)

Another up and coming racer, super stock driver, Keith Bohmsach, turned fast time and opted to take the Letter Perfect Challenge, which was up to $500.00. 

Randy Storlie started out with the lead in the super stock feature.  Alan Sankey and Gary Wosick were right behind him looking to take the lead away from Storlie.  Sankey started losing positions allowing fast runner, Jason Kirsling to move to the front.  By the fourth lap Kirsling and Carl Saylor bumped.  Kirsling was able to hang on to his racer and not spin out, but lost a ton of positions, putting him towards the back of the pack.  This gave Jim Cormack the chance to start working on the leaders.  Chad Brundidge also started moving up to work on the top positions.  

72399a.jpg (9819 bytes) Keith Bohmsach (#24) started the evening out well by setting fast time for the Super Stocks.  He had turned in a lap of 13.498 Seconds around the high-banked third mile paved oval.

Racin’ Jason Szymkowiak, broke an axle during hot laps, fixed his racer, and started moving his way up to the front of the pack.  Szymkowiak passed Brundidge, then Cormack, and tried to get around Storlie.  With five laps to go, it was a dash to the finish.  Storlie and Wosick were in their own race, with Szymkowiak, Cormack and Brundidge all fighting for the third place position.  It looked like Wosick was going to get around Storlie a couple of times, but Storlie was able to maintain his lead and take the win.  Wosick finished second with Szymkowiak in third.   

72399c.jpg (13581 bytes) Michael Brooks (#22) is locked in a tight point race with Marv Flick (#9) and a win this evening helped Brooks slightly widen his point lead.

Last year cruiser driver, Mark Flink took an early lead in the pure stock feature.  Roland Kuhn and Mike Brooks were right behind him.  Brooks quickly took the lead from Flink.  With half the season over, many of the new drivers have improved tremendously and gave Brooks a run for his money.  Brooks took the win, with Brad Scholze in second and new racer Mike Somers in third. 

When the 2-man Cruisers come to play at "Central Wisconsin's Power Playground" the bright orange car of Justin Blenker and John Kampert Jr, (#01) is usually near the front of the pack.  Tonight the combination scored victory. 72399f.jpg (12268 bytes)

The cruisers took the field once again and put on an excellent show for the fans.  Justin Blenker and John Kampert Jr. finished first, with John Van and Mark Van in second and Jack Szymkowiak and Rick Cisewski in third.

Racing continues on Friday evenings at Central Wisconsin's Power Playground, Golden Sands Speedway. Our racetrack is a high-banked 1/3 mile asphalt oval featuring Super Late Models, CWSSA Super Stocks and Pure Stocks.

The track is located between Plover and Wisconsin Rapids, WI on Highway 54.  

Super Late Model Division
30 Lap Feature Event Time Trials
1. #52 Chris Wimmer

1. #40 Jeremy Lepak

12.321 Seconds
2. #12 Mark Mackesy 2. #71 Mark Eswein 12.324 Seconds
3. #71 Mark Eswein 3. #12 Terry Schoppenhorst 12.494 Seconds
4. #32 Doug Drost 4. #22 M.G. Gajewski 12.596 Seconds
5. #107.5 Monte Gress 5. #07 Burton Brown 12.604 Seconds
6. #85 Kirby Kurth
7. #13 Greg Weinfurter
8. #40 Jeremy Lepak
9. #07 Burton Brown
10. # 3 Scott Beyer

Semi-Feature: 1.) J. Weinfurter; 2.) Frank Nitzke; 3.) Steve Gress; 4.) Greg Ives; 5.) Aaron Roehl; 6.) Eric Getzloff
First Heat: 1.) J. Weinfurter; 2.) Nitzke; 3.) Ives
Second Heat: 1.) M. Gress; 2.) Wimmer; 3.) Beyer
Third Heat: 1.) G. Weinfurter; 2.) J. Lepak; 3.) Eswein
Dash: 1.) Brown; 2.) J. Lepak; 3.) Gajewski

CWSSA Super Stock Division
Feature Event Time Trials
1. #53 Randy Storlie 1. #24 Keith Bohmsach 13.498 Seconds
2. #61 Gary Wosick 2. # 7 Chad Brundidge 13.516 Seconds
3. #17 Jason Szymkowiak 3. # 7 Jim Cormack 13.567 Seconds
4. # 7 Chad Brundidge 4. #52 Mike Doughty 13.597 Seconds
5. # 7 Jim Cormack 5. # 8 Carl Saylor 13.580 Seconds
6. #01 Cale Laessig
7. #52 Mike Doughty
8. #40 Shawn Stelzer
9. #99 Jason Kirsling
10. #80 Tim Plowman

Semi-Feature: 1.) Brian Stroik; 2.) Plowman; 3.) Merle Weinfurter; 4.) Wesley Krause; 5.) David Pagels; 6.) Dean Brilliowski
First Heat: 1.) Bernie Fritz Jr; 2.) Brillowski; 3.) Krause
Second Heat: 1.) Storlie; 2.) Pagels; 3.) Plowman
Third Heat: 1.) Wosick; 2.) Laessig; 3.) Kirsling
Dash: 1.) Saylor; 2.) Bohmsach; 3.) Brundidge

Pure Stock Division
Feature Event Time Trials
1. #22 Michael Brooks 1. #78 Bradley Scholze 15.223 Seconds
2. #78 Bradley Scholze 2. # 9 Marv Flick 15.266 Seconds
3. #15 Michael Somers 3. #98 John Matthews 15.425 Seconds
4. #98 John Matthews

4. #15 Michael Somers

15.440 Seconds

5. # 9 Marv Flick 5. #22 Michael Brooks 15.449 Seconds
6. # 9 Wallace Laffin
7. #15 Anney Turzinski
8. #71 Matthew Pyburn

Semi-Feature: 1.) Laffin; 2.) Pyburn; 3.) Scott Christensen; 4.) Curtis Turner; 5.) Matt Osowski
First Heat:
1.) Christensen; 2.) Pyburn; 3.) Turner
Second Heat: 1.) Somers; 2.) Brooks; 3.) Flink
Dash: 1.) Brooks; 2.) Matthews; 3.) Somers

Cruisers Division

Feature: 1.) Blenker & Kampert; 2.) Van & Van; 3.) Czymkowiak & Cisewski; 4.) Wedd & Cayer; 5.) Christensen & Nigh; 6.) Coon & Yeske