Point leader Eswein best in Sands Late Model contest!
By Amy Kolo

July 30, 1999; Plover, WI:  -  Temperatures over 100 degrees did not deter the racing fans from coming out to the Power Playground to see their favorite drivers. Congratulations to Wyatt Brocks winner of the Wal-Mart bike.

Jeremy Lepak turned fast time once again, and opted to take the Hot n’ Now Ultimate Challenge, which was up to $400.00. Lepak seems to be the one that keeps turning the fast times week after week.

72999a.jpg (12109 bytes) 72999b.jpg (15672 bytes)
Chasing the points! In the left photo Mark Eswein (#71) scored his fourth Super Late Model win of the season on the third-mile
high banked asphalt oval here at Golden Sands Speedway.  The win further padded his point lead. In the right photo Mike Brooks (#22) topped the Pure Stock main event but lost the point lead as he was bested by Marv Flick in preliminary events.

Terry Schoppenhorst started out with the early lead during the thirty-lap super late model feature. MG Gajewski was directly behind him looking to steal the lead away. Mark Eswein a few cars back moved Gajewski out of the second position and started working on Schoppenhorst for the lead. Kirby Kurth and Scott Wimmer started closing in trying to nab some of the top positions.

Jeremy Lepak was still in the back of the pack fighting with the slower cars. Eswein quickly stole the lead away from Schoppenhorst. At the same time Kurth and Wimmer moved up, sending Schoppenhorst more positions back. Kurth and Eswein fought hard for the top position.

The Gun on the Run, Todd Stapleman, quickly started moving up looking to take the win. Stapleman maneuvered around Wimmer for the third position, and started working on Kurth and Eswein. Eswein was able to maintain his lead and take the win, with Kurth in second and Stapleman in third. Lepak finished seventh.

72999c.jpg (17488 bytes) First feature of 1999!  David Pagels (#409) scored his first CWSSA Super Stock feature victory of the 1999 racing season here at "Central Wisconsin's Power Playground".

Jason Szymkowiak took fast time again in the super stocks, and opted to take the Letter Perfect Challenge, which was up to $500.00. Alan Sankey zoomed out in front at the beginning of the super stock feature, but was quickly passed by a fast Dave Pagels. Gary Wosick, Carl Saylor, and Merle Weinfurter moved in on the leaders. Wosick quickly took the second position away from Sankey and tried catching Pagels.

Cale Laessig worked his way up around Saylor and Sankey into the third position. By lap 20, Saylor and Sankey tangled. Sending Saylor into the pits and Sankey to the back of the pack. Pagels maintained his lead, but Laessig was able to steal the second position away from Wosick on the restart. Mike Doughty started moving up to the front along with fast timer Jason Szymkowiak. With just three laps to go cars started changing positions quickly. Pagels maintained his lead and took the win. Laessig dropped quite a few positions back, as Doughty took the second position, and Randy Storlie managed to get around Szymkowiak, Laessig and Wosick for the third position. The last three laps of the race were the most exciting with the most position changes.

The battle continues in the pure stocks, as both Mike Brooks and Marv Flick battle for the season championship. Brooks took the lead right away in the feature with new racer, John Matthews, in the second position. Another new racer, Mike Somers was right behind Matthews and was able to move around him on the fifth lap. Marv Flick was trying to get around the slower cars in the back of the pack. By the seventh lap, Flick was able to move around all the slower cars and floor his way up to the front of the pack.

Young racer, Somers saw Flick in his mirrors and put the pedal to the medal. This would be Somers best finish this season, and did not want to let it go. Brad Scholze was also moving up, looking to take some of the top positions away. As the checkered flag fell, Brooks, who had a couple car lengths lead, took the win. Somers was able to hold off Flick for second position. Flick finished third.

As the cruisers came onto the track, a windy storm filled with lightning hit. Canceling the cruiser race. To all cruiser drivers, Golden Sands may hold another cruiser race on August 27, 1999, during the Cruiser Powder Puff race. Keep checking with the speedway office for further details. Racing continues on Friday evenings at Central Wisconsin's Power Playground, Golden Sands Speedway.

Our racetrack is a high-banked 1/3 mile asphalt oval featuring Super Late Models, CWSSA Super Stocks and Pure Stocks. The track is located between Plover and Wisconsin Rapids, WI on Highway 54.  

Super Late Model Division
30 Lap Feature Event Time Trials
1. #71 Mark Eswein

1. #40 Jeremy Lepak

11.898 Seconds
2. #85 Kirby Kurth 2. #71 Mark Eswein 11.915 Seconds
3. #77 Todd Stapleman 3. #85 Kirby Kurth 12.034 Seconds
4. #25 Scott Wimmer 4. #25 Scott Wimmer 12.101 Seconds
5. #22 M.G. Gajewski 5. # 5 Rene Scheinoha 12.154 Seconds
6. # 3 Jeff Weinfurter
7. #40 Jeremy Lepak
8. #52 Chris Wimmer
9. #13 Greg Weinfurter
10. # 2 Clint Sillars

Semi-Feature: 1.) J. Weinfurter; 2.) Monte Gress; 3.) Burton Brown; 4.) Scott Beyer; 5.) Doug Drost; 6.) Steve Gress
First Heat: 1.) Brown; 2.) Mike Budleski; 3.) S. Gress
Second Heat: 1.) J. Weinfurter; 2.) Beyer; 3.) David Naumann
Third Heat: 1.) Rod Wheeler; 2.) Stapleman; 3.) Lepak
Dash: 1.) Scheinoha; 2.) Kurth; 3.) Eswein

CWSSA Super Stock Division
Feature Event Time Trials
1. #409 David Pagels 1. #17 Jason Szymkowiak 13.374 Seconds
2. #52 Mike Doughty 2. #52 Mike Doughty 13.410 Seconds
3. #53 Randy Storlie 3. #24 Keith Bohmsach 13.495 Seconds
4. #01 Cale Laessig 4. #53 Randy Storlie 13.573 Seconds
5. #17 Jason Szymkowiak 5. #01 Cale Laessig 13.578 Seconds
6. #61 Gary Wosick
7. #24 Merle Weinfurter
8. #40 Shawn Stelzer
9. #80 Tim Plowman
10. #78 Scott Hamel

Semi-Feature: 1.) Plowman; 2.) Brian Stroik; 3.) Matt Wisz; 4.) Bernie Fritz Jr.; 5.) Eddie LePointe; 6.) Don Cline
First Heat: 1.) Roger Stanczyk; 2.) Stroik; 3.) Wisz
Second Heat: 1.) Plowman; 2) Weinfurter; 3.) Scott Hamel
Third Heat: 1.) Shawn Stelzer; 2.) Doughty; 3.) Szymkowiak
Dash: 1.) Laessig; 2.) Bohmsach; 3.) Szymkowiak

Pure Stock Division
Feature Event Time Trials
1. #22 Michael Brooks 1. #78 Bradley Scholze 14.843 Seconds
2. #15 Michael Somers 2. # 9 Marv Flick 15.070 Seconds
3. # 9 Marv Flick 3. #15 Anney Turzinski 15.310 Seconds
4. #78 Bradley Scholze

4. #26 Jeffrey Gruber

15.392 Seconds

5. #11 Jason Lewandowski 5. #15 Michael Somers 15.420 Seconds
6. #26 Jeffrey Gruber
7. #15 Anney Turzinski
8. #98 John Matthews

Semi-Feature: 1.) Roland Kuhn; 2.) Scott Christensen; 3.) Duane Robinson; 4.) Harvey Vera; 5.) Johnnie Vera;
First Heat:
1.) 1.) Matt Osowski; 2.) Kuhn; 3.) H. Vera;
Second Heat: 1.) Matt Pyburn; 2.) Lewandowski; 3.) Flick
Dash: 1.) Somers; 2.) Turzinski; 3.) Scholze