It's Kurth in the winner's circle at Golden Sands!
By Amy Kolo

August 6, 1999; Plover, WI:  -  Even with a short rain delay before the feature races, an excellent crowd stayed for the entire Kwik Trip / Tobacco Outlet Night up until the end to watch the spectator races. Congratulations to Lucas Ichienger the Short Trax Jr. Fan of the Week, and to Erik Piikkik, the Wal-Mart bike winner.

8799a.jpg (17029 bytes) Kirby Kurth is currently locked in a point battle with Mark Eswein for the track title here at Golden Sands Speedway.  Tonight's feature win allowed Kurth to close in ever so slightly on Mark Eswein who currently heads up the standings. Kurth is visited in victory lane by Leah Campen from Miller Brewing Company, Brian Koenig from Tobacco Outlet Corp., Craig Bassuener, Golden Sands Speedway, and Gary Goncze from Kwik Trip.

Jeremy Lepak spun fast time once again and opted to take the Hot n’ Now Ultimate Challenge, which was up to $500.00. Kirby Kurth took the lead right away, during the super late model feature. A caution came out on the very first lap as Terry Schoppenhorst and Burton Brown got together. As the restart of the second lap started, Eric Getzloff got loose coming into turn one, the cars behind him put on their brakes and collided. MG Gajewski and Rob Wheeler totally wrecked their cars.

8799c.jpg (13947 bytes) 8799d.jpg (13525 bytes)
Rough start!  An early feature race incident claimed a few cars and bent some sheet metal.  In the left photo M.G. Gajewski (#22) and Burton Brown (#07) wait for assistance, while in the right photo Rod Wheeler's ride suffered some damage.  None of the drivers were hurt in the incident.

Burton Brown and Jeremy Lepak both went into the pits to check on their racers. Kurth maintained his lead on the second restart. Doug Drost was right behind Kurth, but on the fourth lap lost two positions to Greg Weinfurter and Mike Budleski. Todd Stapleman was moving up fast to the front to work on the leaders. Budleski was able to get around Weinfurter for the second position. Stapleman and Eswein also maneuvered around Weinfurter, sending him even further back.

On lap nine another caution came out. Kurth maintained his lead position, but Stapleman, and Eswein stole second away from Budleski, sending him into fourth. Eswein was able to get around Stapleman, as Stapleman got loose coming out of turn four. Fast runner, Chris Wimmer started making his way around the slower cars, to join the party in the front of the pack. Wimmer started passing cars like they were standing still.

Kurth was able to take the checkered and hold off Eswein. Eswein finished second, with Stapleman in third. Lepak finished in ninth.

Shawn Stelzer took fast time in the super stock division, and opted to take the Letter Perfect Challenge, which was up to $550.00. Alan Sankey started out in the lead during the super stock feature, but was quickly overtaken by Racin’ Jason Szymkowiak. Sankey fell back as a very much improved, Jim Cormack started making his way up to the top. Fast runners, Randy Storlie and Cale Laessig were right behind him. Sankey started falling back even more positions, as Storlie and Laessig passed him on the twelve and thirteenth laps.

The chase was on to catch Szymkowiak. In the middle of the pack Sankey, Mike Doughty and Carl Saylor all fought to get ahead of one another. Doughty was able to pass Saylor, then started working on Sankey. Everyone hammered on the gas trying to pass on another. Szymkowiak kept his lead and took the checkered. Cormack finished second with Storlie in third. Stelzer finished eighth. The race was on once again in the pure stocks.

Veteran racers Mike Brooks and Marv Flick are in a highly contested points race, both trying to take the Pure Stock Championship home. Flick at the moment is only two points ahead of Brooks in the standings. Anney Turzinski started out with the lead in the pure stock division, but was black-flagged by lap seven for a water leak.

8799b.jpg (18542 bytes) A checkered flag and a cigar!  Brad Scholze (#78) celebrated with a stogie in the winners circle after taking the feature win in Pure Stock competition this evening on the third mile high-banked asphalt oval.

This gave the lead to Brad Scholze. Mike Brooks and Marv Flick both raced up to the front of the pack, one trying to finish in front of the other. Brooks maneuvered his way into the second spot, with Flick in third. With just five laps to go, a caution came out as Mike Somers and Roland Kuhn both tangled on the backstretch. At the restart, Scholze maintained his lead, with Brooks in second. On the white flag lap Flick took the second position away from Brooks, but as the checkered fell, Scholze took the win and Brooks was able to take back the second position, with Flick finishing in third.

All you need is a street car and some courage!  Spectator racing known here as timed events takes place at various times throughout the year.   Bring a helmet and some courage and you could be a winner like Ron Witt was this evening. 8799e.jpg (10247 bytes)

The spectator races had Ron Witt in first with Paul Hojnacki in second and Jason Pagels in third. Our racetrack is a high-banked 1/3 mile asphalt oval featuring Super Late Models, CWSSA Super Stocks and Pure Stocks. The track is located between Plover and Wisconsin Rapids, WI on Highway 54.  

Super Late Model Division
30 Lap Feature Event Time Trials
1. #85 Kirby Kurth

1. #40 Jeremy Lepak

12.030 Seconds
2. #71 Mark Eswein 2. #107.5 Monte Gress   12.146 Seconds
3. #77 Todd Stapleman 3. #32 Doug Drost 12.149 Seconds
4. #52 Chris Wimmer 4. #71 Mark Eswein 12.168 Seconds
5. #32 Doug Drost 5. #52 Chris Wimmer 12.175 Seconds
6. #55 Mike Budleski
7. #107.5 Monte Gress
8. #13 Greg Weinfurter
9. #40 Jeremy Lepak
10. # 3 Scott Beyer

Semi-Feature: 1.) M.G. Gajewski; 2.)  Rod Wheeler; 3.) Clint Sillars; 4.) Jeff Weinfurter; 5.) Steve Gress; 6.) Chad Devine
First Heat: 1.) S. Gress; 2.) Gajewski; 3.) Charlie Schwock
Second Heat: 1.) J. Weinfurter; 2.) Kurth; 3.) Larry Lepak
Third Heat: 1.) Stapleman; 2.) Eswein; 3.) M. Gress
Dash: 1.) Eswein; 2.) Wimmer; 3.) M. Gress

CWSSA Super Stock Division
Feature Event Time Trials
1. #17 Jason Szymkowiak 1. #40 Shawn Stelzer 13.609 Seconds
2. # 7 Jim Cormack 2. #52 Mike Doughty 13.669 Seconds
3. #53 Randy Storlie 3. # 7 Jim Cormack 13.717 Seconds
4. #01 Cale Laessig 4. #01 Cale Laessig 13.779 Seconds
5. # 3 Alan Sankey 5. # 8 Carl Saylor 13.783 Seconds
6. #52 Mike Doughty
7. # 8 Carl Saylor
8. #40 Shawn Stelzer
9. #17 Bernie Fritz Jr.
10. #24 Merle Weinfurter

Semi-Feature: 1.) Larry Schultz; 2.) Wesley Krause; 3.) David Pagels; 4.) Cary Lyons; 5.) Matt Wisz; 6.) Bernie Fritz Sr.
First Heat: 1.) Krause; 2.) Wisz; 3.) Schultz
Second Heat: 1.) Lyons; 2.) Hamel; 3.) Keith Bohmsach
Third Heat: 1.) Stelzer; 2.) Saylor; 3.) Plowman
Dash: 1.) Saylor; 2.) Laessig; 3.) Cormack

Pure Stock Division
Feature Event Time Trials
1. #78 Bradley Scholze 1. #98 John Matthews 15.129 Seconds
2. #22 Michael Brooks 2. #78 Bradley Scholze  15.129 Seconds
3. # 9 Marv Flick 3. #15 Michael Somers 15.327 Seconds
4. #71 Matthew Pyburn

4. # 9 Marv Flick

15.486 Seconds

5. #15 Michael Somers 5. #22 Michael Brooks 15.504 Seconds
6. #43 Marlow Greening
7. #98 John Matthews
8. #02 Duane Robinson

Semi-Feature: 1.) Jeffrey Gruber; 2.) Matthew Pyburn; 3.) Scott Christensen; 4.) Wallace Lafflin; 5.) Matthew Raykowski
First Heat:
1.) Gruber; 2.) Christensen; 3.) Dale Brandt
Second Heat: 1.) Anney Turzinski; 2.) Greening; 3.) Scholze
Dash: 1.) Brooks; 2.) Somers; 3.) Scholze