"The Gun On The Run"
Stapleman takes Golden Sands Main!

By Amy Kolo

May 28, 1999; Plover, WI:  -  Golden Sands celebrated it’s Super 5th Anniversary, this Friday night.  Track owners, Darrel and Shela Bassuener thanked the track employees that have been there for the entire five years, safety crew members, Jerry Reiwand, Randy Botcher, Russ Shoeneman, Mark Reinwand, and Ed Reinwand, Flag Man:  Pat Barrett, and Scorers:  Pam Somers and Amy Kolo. 

52899a.jpg (16952 bytes) Todd Stapleman "The gun on the run!", ran to the front of this evening's Super Late Model feature event.  Stapleman than powered away from his competitors to earn the victory.

For the Super 5th Anniversary show a spectacular fireworks display was held after the races.  Congratulations to Mark Conkrite the Walmart Bike winner.  Courtney Chojnacki was the Short Trax Fan of the Week.  And Congratulations also goes out to Desiree Robinson and Barb Wilson, the Save-On Furniture Fans of the Week. 

Mark Eswein turned fast time for the evening and opted to take the Hot n’ Now Ultimate Challenge which was up to $1,100.00.  MG Gajewski started out in the lead during the super late model feature, with fast runner Jeff Weinfurter right behind him.  Kirby Kurth started making his way up but was soon overtaken by Todd Stapleman.  By lap twelve the caution flags started coming out, as cars in the back of the pack started racing hard trying to gain in positions.  Three cautions in a row came out. 

Finally the race was restarted, and Stapleman jumped into the lead.  Gajewski fought hard trying to get around Stapleman.  Eswein started moving up from the back of the pack to take the challenge home.  By the 23rd lap Eswein as able to make it up into the fourth position, but the leaders had already checked out and were quite a few car lengths ahead of the rest of the pack.  Eswein motored hard to catch up to Gajewski and Stapleman, but there was not enough laps in the race to catch them and get around.   If Eswein had about five more laps, he probably would have won the race and the Hot n’ Now Challenge.  Stapleman, “The Gun on the Run”  took the win, with Gajewski in second, and Eswein in third. 

Jason Kirsling took the fastest lap for the evening and opted to take the Letter Perfect Challenge which was up to $100.00.   Tim Plowman started out in the lead, but was taken over  by a very fast Carl Saylor.  Plowman regained his lead a couple of laps later as Saylor started losing positions fast.  Former dirt racer, Judd Brandl moved up into the second position and started working on Plowman.  Bu the 8th lap Brandl was able to get around Plowman for the lead.  Shawn Stelzer started moving up working on the leaders. 

52899b.jpg (17388 bytes) Jason Szymkowiak (#17) found the fast groove during the CWSSA Super Stock event and went on to score the victory. Szymkowiak found a quick land through lapped traffic to steal the lead and the win away from Judd Brandl.

Fast runner, Jason Szymkowiak moved up into the top positions.  Keith Bohmsach, who started moving up and taking positions away, started experiencing engine problems, and headed into the pits.  This gave Randy Storlie the opportunity to move up.  Szymkowiak was working on Brandl for the lead.  By lap 16, Plowman got turned around, but was able to save it.  Excellent save, but it brought him a lap down.  As Storlie started moving up Brandl and Szymkowiak slammed on the gas.   With just five short  laps to go it was a dash to the finish.  With lapped traffic involved, both Szymkowiak and Storlie were able to get around Brandl for the lead.  Szymkowiak held off Storlie for the win.  Storlie finished second with Brandl in third. 

Jeff Gruber slammed his way for the lead during the pure stock feature, with fast runner Mike Brooks right behind him.   Marv Flick quickly stole the second position away from Brooks and started working on Gruber.  In the back of the pack all the new drivers were smashing and fighting each other for positions.  The pure stock feature was very impressive, in that it was the only feature that went flag to flag that night.  Many of the new drivers and some of the more  experience drivers all were able to get their car turned around or into the infield after spinning before any caution flags had to come out. 

52899c.jpg (14048 bytes) Marv Flick (#9) waited until the final laps to take the lead from pacesetter Jeffrey Gruber.  Flick was ahead at the checkered and scored the feature win in the Pure Stock feature race.

Gruber and Flick raced hard for the entire 15 laps.  It looked like Gruber was going to take the win, but as the checkered fell, Flick snuck around Gruber for the win.  Gruber finished second with Brooks in third.

Racing continues on Friday evenings at Central Wisconsin's Power Playground, Golden Sands Speedway. Our racetrack is a high-banked 1/3 mile asphalt oval featuring Super Late Models, CWSSA Super Stocks and Pure Stocks.

The track is located between Plover and Wisconsin Rapids, WI on Highway 54. 

Super Late Model Division
30 Lap Feature Event Time Trials
1. #77 Todd Stapleman

1. #71 Mark Eswein

12.083 Seconds
2. #22 M.G. Gajewski 2. #85 Kirby Kurth 12.135 Seconds
3. #71 Mark Eswein 3. #52 Chris Wimmer 12.148 Seconds
4. # 3 Jeff Weinfurter 4. #13 Greg Weinfurter  12.168 Seconds
5. #52 Chris Wimmer 5. #77 Todd Stapleman 12.222 Seconds
6. #40 Jeremy Lepak
7. #32 Doug Drost
8. #41 Larry Lepak
9. #107.5 Monte Gress
10. #85 Kirby Kurth

Semi-Feature: 1.) Chad Devine; 2.) Terry Selle; 3.) Jeff Fritz; 4.) Steve Gress; 5.) Charlie Schwock
First Heat:
1.) Fritz
Second Heat: 1.) Scott Beyer; 2.) J. Lepak; 3.) Jamie Iverson
Dash: 1.) Stapleman; 2.) Wimmer; 3.) Eswein

CWSSA Super Stock Division
Feature Event Time Trials
1. #17 Jason Szymokwiak 1. #99 Jason Kirlsing 13.706 Seconds
2. #53 Randy Storlie 2. #24 Keith Bohmsach 13.709 Seconds
3. #27 Judd Brandl 3. #17 Jason Szymkowiak 13.740 Seconds
4. #99 Jason Kirsling 4. #53 Randy Storlie 13.742 Seconds
5. #24 Merle Weinfurter 5. #40 Shawn Stelzer 13.801 Seconds
6. # 7 Jim Cormack
7. # 3 Alan Sansky
8. #78 Scott Hamel
9. # 7 Brian Stroik
10. #40 Shawn Stelzer

Semi-Feature: 1.) Sansky; 2.) Cormack; 3.) David Pagels; 4.) Cary Lyons; 5.) James Wojcik; 6.) Bernie Fritz Sr.
First Heat: 1.) Sansky; 2.) Cormack; 3.) Wesley Krause
Second Heat: 1.) Pagels; 2.) Brandl; 3.) Tim Plowman
Third Heat: 1.) Weinfurter; 2.) Storlie; 3.) Bohmsach
Dash: 1.) Stelzer; 2.) Kirlsing; 3.) Szymkowiak

Pure Stock Division
Feature Event Time Trials
1. # 9 Marv Flick 1. #42 Roland Kuhn 15.437 Seconds
2. #26 Jeffrey Gruber 2. #78 Bradley Scholze 15.438 Seconds
3. #22 Michael Brooks 3. #98 John Matthews 15.642 Seconds
4. #98 John Matthews

4. #11 Jason Lewandowski

15.674 Seconds

5. #11 Jason Lewandowski 5. #22 Michael Brooks 15.876 Seconds
6. #26 Jeffrey Gruber
7. #25 Scott Christensen
8. #47 Mark Flink

Semi-Feature: 1.) Anney Turzinski; 2.) Scott Christensen; 3.) Matthew Raykowski; 4.) Kevin Fisher; 5.) Michel Somers
First Heat: 1.) Turzinski; 2.) Somers; 3.) Fisher
Second Heat: 1.) Gruber; 2.) Brooks; 3.) Matthews
Dash: 1.) Not Available