Eswein strikes again!  
Cormack takes career first Super Stock feature win!
By Amy Kolo

July 9, 2000; Plover, WI -  Thunderstorms cancelled Golden Sands Speedway’s Friday show, but racing resumed on Sunday afternoon. The hot weather brought out the fans for some excellent racing. The safety officials also participated in the racing by running the Short Trax Jr. Fan Clubs gas powered go-karts.

7900d.jpg (13222 bytes) Fun in the sun! The Golden Sands Speedway track safety crew had a chance to take to the wheel for a special grudge match prior to the start of racing activities at Golden Sands Speedway.

Jason Weinkauf turned fast time and opted to take the Hot n’ Now Ultimate Challenge which was up to $200.00

Half a car?!? Terry Schoppenhorst (#12) was missing the front end fiberglass on his Super Late Model when he took to the track for feature action.  Schoppenhorst did battle early in the race with Judd Brandl (#27) and led several laps. 7900g.jpg (11451 bytes)

Terry Schoppenhorst, missing the nose off the front of his racer from a heat race incident took the early lead in the 30-lap feature. Judd Brandl followed right behind him. Fast runners, Chris Wimmer, Jeremy Lepak and Mark Eswein started moving up to join the leaders. By the eighth lap Wimmer was able to get around Schoppenhorst for the lead.

7900h.jpg (13587 bytes) The race for second was hotly contested as Jeremy Lepak (#40) and Chris Wimmer (#52) diced for the spot.   Lepak came out on top at the end recording a second place run behind Mark Eswein.

Eswein also maneuvered his way around Schoppenhorst for the second position. Schoppenhorst did not give up as he raced hard. On lap 18, a caution came out between Burton Brown and Frank Nitzke. At the restart, Schoppenhorst dropped back allowing Doug Drost and Jeremy Lepak to maneuver around him.

Defending champ on a roll!  Mark Eswein seems to have found a setup he likes as he has won three out of the last four Super Late Model features at Golden Sands Speedway including a thrilling victory in a 100 lap main event when the MARS tour appeared at the track last weekend. 7900a.jpg (17792 bytes)

Lepak moved up to the second position and started working on Eswein for the lead. Eswein gained car positions on Lepak. Lepak and Wimmer fought for the second position. As the checkered flag fell, Eswein took the win with Lepak in second and Wimmer in third.

7900b.jpg (19269 bytes)

Jim Cormack (#7) scored a well deserved first career Super Stock victory after several runner-up finishes this year.

Gary Wosick took fast time in the Super Stock division and opted take the Letter Perfect Challenge which was also up to $200.00.

Rookie driver and last years Pure Stock Champion, Mike Brooks started out with the lead in the Super Stock feature event. Scott Hamel and Carl Saylor were in hot pursuit. Hamel lost it coming out of the turn, even though he lost some major positions, he was able to keep his race car under control. Meanwhile, fast runners Jason Kirsling and Jim Cormack moved up to the front of the pack. Kirsling and Cormack changed positions back and forth. Kirsling took the lead away from Brooks, with Cormack moving into the second position.

Cormak finally got around Kirsling on the 13th lap. Brooks held on strong to his third position, until Bohmsach motored around him. With just three laps to go, lapped traffic came into play. The lapped cars did not deter the leaders as everyone held their positions. Cormack took the win with Kirsling in second and Bohmsach in third.

Brad Scholze ended up with fast time in the Pure Stock division and opted to take the Carquest Challenge which was up to $250.00.

7900c.jpg (15063 bytes) 7900e.jpg (14149 bytes)
The goal of every driver is to win the race, in the left photo, Jason Lewandowski (#11) accomplished that goal grabbing a Pure Stock feature win.  In the right photo Aaron Roehl (#85), Mike Budleski (#11) and Scott Beyer (#3) didn't make victory lane on this day, getting together in the Late Model semi-feature event.

Jason Lewandowski took the lead right away in the Pure Stock feature event and started hammering it. Curt Blenker did the same trying to catch Lewandowski. By the fifth lap, lapped traffic came into play. Matt Pyburn moved up into the third position, trying to work on the leaders. Duane Robinson and Marv Flick started to advance positions from the back of the pack. Between all the lapped traffic the front-runners maintained their positions. Lewandowski took the win with Blenker in second and Pyburn in third.

7900f.jpg (12950 bytes) The 2-man Cruisers made another appearance at Golden Sands Speedway.  Here Jack Szymkowiak (#76) and Rick Cisewski (#76) enjoy their turn in victory lane after winning one of the two feature contests.

Twenty-six cruisers showed up for two action packed races. The first race had Jack Szymkowiak and Rick Cisewski in first, Jack Konkol and Aaron Yeske took second and Ryan Kramer and Ray Appleby in third. The second race had Justin Blenker and John Kampert in first, Greg Klug and Brian Cory in second. Dave Haney and Joe Greening took third.


Super Late Model Division
Feature: 1.) Mark Eswein; 2.) Jeremy Lepak; 3.) Chris Wimmer; 4.) Jeff Weinfurter; 5.) Joe Krzykowski; 6.) Doug Drost; 7.) Leroy Pettis; 8.) Frank Nitzke; 9.) Burton Brown; 10.) M.G. Gajewski; 11.) Greg Weinfurter; 12.) Jason Weinkauf
Semi-Feature: 1.) Greg Weinfurter; 2.) M.G. Gajewski; 3.) Mike Budleski; 4.) Chad Devine; 5.) Steve Gress; 6.) Mark Van; 7.) Eric Getzloff; 8.) Aaron Roehl
First Heat:
1.) Eric Getzloff; 2.) Aaron Roehl; 3.) Brandon Selle
Second Heat: 1.) Greg Weinfurter; 2.) M.G. Gajewski; 3.) Leroy Pettis

Third Heat: 1.) Judd Brandl; 2.) Jeff Weinfurter; 3.) Chris Wimmer
Dash: 1.) Chris Wimmer; 2.) Joe Krzykowski; 3.) Mark Eswein

Time Trials: 1.) Jason Weinkauf, 12.045 Seconds; 2.) Mark Eswein, 12.052 Seconds; 3.) Jeremy Lepak, 12.088 Seconds; 4.) Chris Wimmer, 12.103 Seconds; 5.) Joe Krzykowski, 12.109 Seconds

CWSSA Super Stock Division
Feature: 1.) Jim Cormack; 2.) Jason Kirsling; 3.) Keith Bohmsach; 4.) Mike Brooks; 5.) Carl Saylor; 6.) Gary Wosick; 7.) Randy Storlie; 8.) Alan Sankey; 9.) Mike Doughty; 10.) Merle Weinfurter
Semi-Feature: 1.) Dean Brillowski; 2.) Matt Raykowski; 3.) Don Cline; 4.) Paul Meronk
First Heat:
1.) David Pagels; 2.) Brian Stroik; 3.) Mike Brooks
Second Heat: 1.) Randy Storlie; 2.) Merle Weinfurter; 3.) Mike Doughty
Dash: 1.) Keith Bohmsach; 2.) Jason Kirsling; 3.) Gary Wosick

Time Trials: 1.) Gary Wosick, 13.432 Seconds; 2.) Jason Kirsling, 13.466 Seconds; 3.) Jim Cormack, 13.501 Seconds

Pure Stocks Division
Feature: 1.) Jason Lewandowski; 2.) Curt Blenker; 3.) Matthew Pyburn; 4.) Duane Robinson; 5.) Marv Flick; 6.) Michael Somers; 7.) Bradley Scholze; 8.) Roland Kuhni
First Heat:
1.) Jason Lewandowski; 2.) Chris Brooks; 3.) Cal Greening
Second Heat: 1.) Josh Oleson; 2.) Matt Osowski; 3.) Matthew Pyburn
Dash: 1.) Matt Osowski; 2.) Bradley Scholze; 3.) Marv Flick

Time Trials: 1.) Bradley Scholze, 14.921 Seconds; 2.) Marv Flick, 15.262 Seconds; 3.) Michael Somers, 15.300 Seconds

2-Man Cruisers
First Feature: 1.) Szymkowiak & Cisewski; 2.) Konkol & Yeske; 3.) Kramer & Appley; 4.) Mroczenski & Mroczenski; 5.) Pingel & Williams; 6.) Kramer & Kramer
Second Feature:
1.) Blenker & Kampert Sr; 2.) Klug & Cory; 3.) Haney & Greening; 4.) Haase & Gwidt; 5.) McDonald & McDonald; 6.) Cisewski & Cisewski