Drost steals Golden Sands Speedway's Late Model main!
By Amy Kolo

May 19, 2000; Plover, WI -  The cooler spring weather did not keep the race fans away, as Golden Sands Speedway’s stands filled up. Congratulations to Cassie Lapinski the Wal-Mart Gift Certificate winner, and Ashley Schlapper the Short Trax Jr. Fan Club Member of the Week.

Jason Weinkauf pulled fast time in the Super Late Model division and opted to take the Hot n’ Now Ultimate Challenge which was up to $800.00.

51900a.jpg (11735 bytes)

Doug Drost (#32) was all smiles after claming his first Super Late Model feature victory of the year.

The Super Late Model feature started off with a yellow right away as Mike Budleski and Burton Brown tangled in turn three. After the restart Stapleman took the lead with MG Gajewski right behind him. This lasted about five more laps, as Scott Beyer spun coming into turn two. As Beyer spun, Budleski and Larry Lepak’s cars hooked together, went off the track, and hit the wall head first between turns one and two. Both drivers’ were thankfully okay.

As the next restart took place Stapleman regained his lead with Mark Eswein in second and MG Gajewski in third. With just two more short laps into the race Eswein and Gajewski tangled causing yet another yellow. With the new line up complete, Stapleman once again took the lead with Jeremy Lepak and Kirby Kurth right behind him. With so many yellows, it was only lap ten and Weinkauf already made it up to the fourth position. It looked like Weinkauf was going to take the challenge money home. The top four cars started racing hard.

To minimize the force of an impact barrels are placed in front of the wall at Golden Sand Speedway.  Those barrels got a workout when Mike Budleski (#11) and Larry Lepak (behind #11) got together and hit the wall.   The barrels did their job to minimize the blow as both drivers were okay in the incident. 51900d.jpg (14740 bytes)

By the fifteenth lap Lepak made his way around Stapleman for the lead. Kurth started having troubles getting thru the turns and started to loose positions, giving Doug Drost a chance to work on the leaders. With just ten laps to go, Weinkauf moved up into the second position. He started racing hard against Lepak trying to get around him. Now it was down to five laps, Weinkauf finally made his way around Lepak on the backstretch and was going to take the lead, when Drost came behind Weinkauf and moved him out of his way. This made Weinkauf loose and dropped back four positions. Lepak took the lead back, but was quickly overtaken by Drost, with Eswein following in hot pursuit. Drost took the checkered flag with Eswein in second. Lepak dropped back a few more positions, and Weinkauf finished third. It was an intensifying race. Great job to all drivers!

51900b.jpg (17005 bytes) Keith Bohmsach (#24x) was all smiles after scoring a feature victory in Super Stock action.  Bohmsach a former Pure Stock champion, not lies a single point behind Randy Storlie as he chases his first career Super Stock title.

Randy Storlie took fast time once again in the Super Stock division. With the Letter Perfect Challenge money only up to $100.00, Storlie chose not to take the challenge. After some prodding and booing from the crowd, and a $100.00 bonus if he won from the track, Storlie changed his mind and opted for the challenge.

Wes Coon started out in the lead with Dave Pagels and Shawn Stelzer behind him. Coon, a rookie racer, dropped back a few positions, giving the lead to Pagels, and second to Hamel. Hamel made his way around Pagels for the lead. At the same time fast runners, Keith Bohmsach and Storlie started their way up to the front of the pack.

Half way thru the feature event, Bohmsach caught up to Hamel and took the lead away from him. Jason Kirsling maneuvered his way around Storlie and Hamel for the second position. Storlie wanted the win and started to try to get around the front-runners for the lead. Bohmsach held on tight to his lead position, fighting off Kirsling. Bohmsach took the checkered with Kirsling in second. Hamel held on to the third position, with Storlie in fourth.

51900c.jpg (11533 bytes)

Last season's point runner-up Marv Flick scored the Pure Stock feature win this evening!

Mike Somers took fast time once again in the Pure Stocks. Just a new racer last year, Somers has greatly improved and shown some very disciplined racing abilities. Of course Somers opted to take the CarQuest challenge, which was now up to $250.00.

Wallace Laffin took the early lead in the pure stock feature event. Veteran racers, Roland Kuhn and Marv Flick were right behind him. Flick started moving up and took the lead away from Laffin. Matt Pyburn spun by himself a few times, but did not bring out any yellows. As Pyburn spun, cars quickly changed positions.

By the tenth lap Somers was up to fifth place. He had been running on a flat tire four about three laps, but then had to pit to get it fixed. Matt Osowski moved up the pack and drove his way into the second position. He fought Flick for the lead, but there just were not enough laps in the race to take the lead away from Flick. As the checkered flag fell, Flick took the first position, with Osowski in second and Brad Scholze in third.

51900e.jpg (6964 bytes) Fast Ford!  Fans had their chance to use their street cars and tackle the challenges of the high0banked third mile oval in the timed events.  Derrik Zag took top honors in his Ford Probe this evening.

Spectator races were the final event of the evening. Track owner Darrel Bassuener even took his old Cadillac Hearse out on the track. Derrik Zag took first place in this Ford Probe. Ron Witt took second in his Malibu, and Nick L’huillier took third in his TransAm.


Super Late Model Division
Feature: 1.) Doug Drost, 2.) Mark Eswein,  3.) Jason Weinkauf; 4.) Todd Stapleman; 5.) Jeremy Lepak; 6.) Chris Wimmer; 7.) Scott Beyer; 8.) Kirby Kurth, 9.) Judd Brandl; 10.) Burton Brown; 11.) Monte Gress; 12.) LeRoy Pettis
Semi-Feature: 1.) LeRoy Pettis; 2.) Monte Gress; 3.) Steve Gress; 4.) Jason Szymkowiak; 5.) Wayne Breitenfeldt; 6.) Frank Nitzke
First Heat:
1.) Eric Getzloff; 2.) Steve Gress; 3.) LeRoy Pettis
Second Heat: 1.) Steve Gress; 2.) Jason Szymkowiak; 3.) Greg Weinfurter

Third Heat: 1.) M.G. Gejewski; 2.) Burton Brown; 3.) Kirby Kurth
Dash: 1.) Jeremy Lepak; 2.) Mark Eswein; 3.) Chris Wimmer

Time Trials: 1.) Jason Weinkauf, 12.044 Seconds; 2.) Chris Wimmer, 12.069 Seconds; 3.) Doug Drost, 12.070 Seconds; 4.) Mark Eswein, 12.076 Seconds; 5.) Jeremy Lepak, 12.078 Seconds

CWSSA Super Stock Division
Feature: 1.) Keith Bohmsach; 3.) Jason Kirsling; 3.) Scott Hamel; 4.) Randy Storlie; 5.) Jim Cormack; 6.) Mike Doughty; 7.) Alan Sankey; 8.) David Pagels
Semi-Feature: 1.) Larry Schultz; 2.) Brian Stroik; 3.) Don Cline; 4.) Eddie Lapointe
First Heat:
1.) Bernie Fritz Sr.; 2.) Brian Stroik; 3.) Don Cline
Second Heat: 1.) Bernie Fritz Jr.; 2.) Scott Hamel; 3.) David Pagels

Third Heat: 1.) Jason Kirsling; 2.) Jim Cormack; 3.) Mike Doughty
Dash: 1.) Jason Kirsling; 2.) Keith Bohmsach; 3.) Marle Weinfurter

Time Trials: 1.) Randy Storlie, 13.324 Seconds; 2.) Keith Bohmsach, 12.327 Seconds; 3.) Mike Doughty, 13.467 Seconds

Pure Stocks Division
Feature: 1.) Marv Flick; 2.) Matt Osowski; 3.) Bradley Scholze; 4.) Jason Lewandowski; 5.) Wallace Laffin; 6.) Neal Soyka; 7.) Duane Robinson; 8.) Roland Kuhn
First Heat:
1.) Matt Osowski; 2.) Duane Robinson; 3.) Roland Kuhn
Second Heat: 1.) Mark Flick; 2.) Neal Soyka; 3.) MIchael Somers
Dash: 1.) Bradley Scholze; 2.) Neal Soyka; 3.) Michael Somers

Time Trials: 1.) Michael Somers, 14.968 Seconds; 2.) Bradley Scholze, 15.295 Seconds; 3.) Jason Lewandowski, 15.425 Seconds