Genett Makes it Three, Gilster, Marzofka and Robinson Break the Ice

by Mike Barrett

Kyle Genett and the Redline Speedsports Team are hard to beat. They took their third feature race this year at Golden Sands Speedway on Friday July 27th. Kyle ran behind Ted Reichenberger lap after lap, waiting until 5 to go to really push his ride to the front. A second row start did not hurt, but Genett had to work past wily veterans like Jeff Weinfurter and Tim Hintz as well, bringing Jim Sauter Jr. through the short part of the field while fast qualifier Ryan Hinner fought traffic finding 6th the best he could manage. Sauter posted 2nd, nipping Reichenberger at the end, while Frank Nitzke's 4th and Jeff Weinfurter's 5th place finishes continued decent recent runs for each.
Super Stocks put on a heck of a show, at the outset Scott Hamel tried the third groove one too many laps and after edging off track found his way blocked by Phil Malouf alongside another car on the front straight. Hamel's fight to gain control ended with a spin in turn 1, and after he and Malouf restarted in the rear as a result of contact, it was only Malouf who made real gains. Dakota Blakeslee started up front, restarted up front after the caution, and tried to fend off more experienced racers, to no avail. His pole position start faded to 9th, after Brian Weinfurter, Dean Zakrzewski and Dan Gilster, among others, rolled past. Gilster chased Weinfurter all the way to the front, and West Salem's Gilster nosed his way past in the late laps to take a tough win away from the local guys (and girl, fast qualifier Natalie Decker). Weinfurter posted 2nd, Zakrzewski 3rd, Malouf and Matt Raykowski were 4th and 5th.
The Pure Stocks winner Caleb Marzofka posted his first-ever feature win at Golden Sands in true short track fashion tonight, pushing Ben Capek out of the groove and driving off to cap a night of setting fast time and fighting for a feature win. Capek spun trying to regain the lead, putting himself to the back and mustering 6th at the end. Mark Kalata again at 3rd place made gains, Jeff Macintee and Dean Ashbacher 4th and 5th also continued solid runs.
4 Cylinder racers were a tight pack of 20 at the green flag, Eric Robinson bolting out ahead, reeled in halfway by Dale Robinson, who went far enough out front to avoid the seeming inevitable fate of losing in the final laps to Kevin Burris, who managed 2nd, just ahead of the younger Robinson. The finish was the third green-white-checkered of the night, thrilling fans who came for Bud Platinum Ladies Night. Josh Klopotek and John Engebretson filled out the top 5, ahead of fast qualifier Scott Ciesielski.
A few ladies braved the third mile in borrowed cars for "Powder Puff"  races, Alex Betro winning the 4 cylinder show, Sabrina Boardman taking the Pure Stock portion win.
::: Home :: News :: Schedule :: Points :: Fan Info :: Track Facts :: Gallery :: Driver Info :: Rules :: Directions :: Sponsors :: Contact :::