Mackesy Returns for Win, Flick, Kalata, Dale Robinson Add Wins

by Mike Barrett
Mark Mackesy says it took him about 13 years to figure out turn 3 at Golden Sands Speedway. After his win Friday night in the Element Mobile Super Late Model class Mackesy seems to have figured out other parts of the track as well. A mid-race caution got Mackesy the chance he needed to vie for the lead after Kyle Genett and Corey Jankowski raced neck and neck for about 30 laps. The action was constant as the two fought for position, until Mackesy slipped past Jankowski just as fast qualifier Jim Sauter Jr. suffered a sudden mechanical problem that shot him off the banking of turns 3 and 4. Mackesy started behind Genett and took the lead with a few laps to go as Jankowski tried to defend a top spot from Ryan Hinner. As Mackesy took the checkered for the win, Jankowksi tried to dive to the inside of Hinner and spun, relinquishing 4th. Genett managed 2nd place, just ahead of Frank Nitzke. Nitzke now leads Genett by 1 point after his fantastic 3rd place run, passing no less than 9 other cars.

Marv Flick has been a steady runner, but out front was the place to be during a wild Super Stock show that saw last week's winner John Zuch's car get mangled, and fast qualifier Dan Gilster post 3rd. Flick started up front and refused to budge from the spot, despite runs from Phil Malouf and others. Roger Peterson chalked up 4th and Dean Zakrzewski 5th. Gilster was by far the big passer of the night, picking up 9 spots.

Mark Kalata was all excited about his "clean air" he said he got as he spent the whole Pure Stock feature out front. As Mark wheeled away, the pack was jammed with action; every driver fighting hard for the 3 or 4 spots the best ones managed to get. Travis Volm got to 2nd, Ben Capek 3rd, and fast timer Cale Marzofka was 4th. Kurt Guralski was the 5th finisher. 

2 rows deep the 4 cylinder cars jumped 3 wide at the drop of the green. Dale Robinson darted quickly to the front and drove as fast as he could to get distanced from fast timer Scott Ciesielski and perennial winner Keven Burris. A restart allowed some a peek at the front, but Robinson stayed first till the end, while others like Ciesielski, Burris, and Luke Betro all raced hard for each position.
::: Home :: News :: Schedule :: Points :: Fan Info :: Track Facts :: Gallery :: Driver Info :: Rules :: Directions :: Sponsors :: Contact :::