Schools Night Out

Golden Sands Speedway’s School’s Night Out pitted Lincoln High School vs. Assumption High School in attendance at the track and 4 of their teachers racing against eachother!  LHS took home the prize money with the most students attending the races, but it was a pretty tight neck and neck race between the teachers!  Mr. Spiegel from LHS and Mr. Klein from AMS kept it tight around the track for the five laps.  Mr. Klein almost got around Mr. Spiegel quite a few times but either went to high in the corners or Mr. Spiegel would see him and close the door.  Mr. Spiegel from LHS finished first, Mr. Klein from AMS took second, Mr. Schmitt from LHS took third, and Mr. Tuhy took fourth.


The racing action was fast and furious Friday night at Golden Sands Speedway. Four divisions were on tap and provided some exciting racing action, and it all started with the Super Stocks.


It was Mike Pascavis Memorial night and that had an extra special feeling for Super Stock drivers, especially Matt Raykowski and his family. Mike was a nephew to the Raykowski’s who raced mostly at Slinger Speedway, but did run at Golden Sands and Marshfield a few times as well.  Mike died 10 years ago on June 7, and the Raykowski family has been working on make this memorial possible. “I’ve been working on this for over a year and to finally see everything come together is pretty overwhelming” said Kathy Raykowski, Matt’s wife. Matt was running a different number, 5 instead of 6, which was Mike’s number, and also had and will continue to have a different paint scheme than normal. The mostly black with yellow highlights look is what Mike’s car looked like in his last race.


Heat number 1 for the Super Stocks was exciting and scary. Marv Flick in his silver 90 car ended up going airborne and barrel rolled into the front stretch water barrels by the wall. This occurred after the 33 of Matt Komatz broke an axel causing his right rear tire to roll across the track which Marv ended up hitting just after the start/finish line and sent him air born. He ended up landing on his right side on the track surface, but then the nose hit the sand just off the track. This caused his car to barrel roll once again but twice and came to rest near the entrance to turn one, roof against the barrels in front of the front stretch wall. Very heavy damage occurred to the 90 car, but Marv was able to walk away unscathed. “I don’t think I’ve ever seen a crash like that on our local tracks” mentioned announcer Curt Keene. It was a wild ride, and we are very glad that Marv was ok. After cleaning the racing surface, Matt Raykowski ended up taking home the win in the first Super Stock heat. Heat two saw Ben Capek, the Nekoosa native would take home the win driving the number 81 car. In the feature event, fast timer Brian Back was looking to make his return to Golden Sands Speedway a success. He looked fast early getting up to second behind Ben Capek. Ben stayed low and Brian stayed high. The high side was just not hooking up for Back though and Capek took home the win. Jeff Nowak and Phil Malouf were battling side by side for the last few laps and were able to sneak by Back on the inside on the final lap in turns 3 and 4, taking home second and third respectively. Back ended up forth and Dean Zakrzewski fifth.


The Element Mobile Super Late Models also provided some exciting racing action. Jim Sauter Jr. set fast time with a sub 12 second lap. Mark Mackesy also timed in with an 11 second lap, but was not able to best Sauter. In heat number 1, Matt Pyburn took home the win with a strong move past Gregg Ruffalo. Heat number 2 saw Jeff Weinfurter picking up a win in his number 3 car. Heat number 3 had Mike Egen, the Slinger native, driving the GEM Motorsports entry, picking up the win. Paige Decker, in her 03 Toby Nuttleman prepared car, ended up slowing on the front stretch early in the race, which backed Amherst’s Eugene Gregorich Jr to the rear of the field. Paige was then a scratch for the rest of the night. With 25 super late models showing up to race, we ended up needing a Semi-Feature. The number 32 of Pardeeville’s Steve Litchfield started out front and kept it there. That left Matt Pyburn and Florida’s Amanda Ferguson to fight it out for the 2nd and final transfer spot. Close but clean side by side racing action took place with Pyburn edging Ferguson at the line by inches. The A-Main Feature for the Super Late Models was definitely action packed. With Jim Sauter Jr. marred back in the pack, he was really anxious to start working his way to the front. Contact though between him and Mark Mackesy out of turn two brought out the caution. Both would go to the back, but would manage to work their back to the front before finishing 5th and 6th respectfully. Clarie Decker, in the Mark Kraus prepared 01 and Jeff Weinfurter was also involved in a caution. Claire was not able to continue the race, but Weinfurter would. Up front Frank Nitzke was able to make some strong moves around the track working is way to 1st and took home the win. Eugene Gregorich was 2nd, Mike Egan 3rd, “Hurricane” Tim Hitz 4th, and Jim Sauter Jr. rounded out the top 5.  


Nineteen Affordable Maytag Pure Stocks were on hand Friday night as well. Mosinee’s Phil Prahl, Plainfield’s Jeff McIntee and Wautoma’s Brent Weiland all took home wins in their respective heats. The feature started with some beating and banging between the 65 of Nick Erickson Jr. and the 76 of Travis Volm. Erickson started behind Volm and checked his back bumper for stability for quite a few laps. Erickson made a move to the inside of Volm in 3 and 4 and made contact, which sent Volm around and cut his left rear tire down. He went to the pits and got a new tire and was able to come back and salvage a 10th place finish, one spot ahead of Erickson. The 08 of Clintonville’s Mike Kasperek was able to hold off the surges of Karl Genett in the 16X. Kasperek’s car, which is rumoured to be sold, went out a winner. Jeff McIntee, Brent Weiland and fast timer Mark Kalata rounded out the rest of the top 5.


The 3 and sometimes 4 wide racing was back as well in the 4-cylinder stock class. Stevens Point natives Dave Harvath and Nikki Coulhurst picked up heat wins. The always fast Kelly Sankey in his 88 took home fast time honors and also the feature win on the 66 of Jared Feltz. Jeremy Kemnetz, Dave Klopotek and Dave Harvath also recorded a top 5 finish.
::: Home :: News :: Schedule :: Points :: Fan Info :: Track Facts :: Gallery :: Driver Info :: Rules :: Directions :: Sponsors :: Contact :::