Dalton Zehr takes Team Back to Victory Lane, Team Reffner Wins by Overall Points

Dalton Zehr takes Team Back to Victory Lane, Team Reffner Wins by Overall Points

Dalton Zehr put Team Back in Victory Lane, Team Reffner won overall points.

By: Brandon Aschenbrenner, Photo Blaser Photography

Memorial Day weekend brought the opening event for Golden Sands Speedway for 2016, The Battle of the Legends Part 2 and the weather was perfect to enjoy some great racing action. Fans packed the grand stands and in turn were treated to the best racing action in Central Wisconsin. Late Models determined by draft picks, Wisconsin Sport Trucks and Vintage racers were all on hand.

In the Wisconsin Sport Trucks, the usual suspect and hot shoe in this class at WIR, Brett VanHorn (36), took fast time honors. Two heats found Keith Habeck (19) and Kyle Quella (02) in victory lane. In the feature, the 14 truck field took the green and were 3 and even 4 wide right away. Aggressive moves early helped Blaine Habeck (20) grab the lead from Pete Zarnoff (26). With 12 laps remaining in the race, the 21 truck, Drew Habeck, spun entering turn 1 to bring out the caution. After the restart, Brian Vixmer (5) was able to get lane choice and got out to the lead spot. It was all Vixmer after that as he went on to take the win. Alyssa Larsen (25) ended a great run in 2nd place, Kyle Quella took 3rd, Brett VanHorn 4th and Jason Plutz (96) took 5th. The Wisconsin Sport Trucks race weekly at WIR in Kaukauna and randomly at Norway Speedway and Dells Raceway Park. Follow Wisconsin Sport Trucks on Facebook for their schedule.

The Vintage Series, which is running under the TUNDRA banner most of the year, were also on hand. The Rossier’s were the ones who took advantage of being back at their home track. Royce (4) took fast time and the heat win beating out Rex (21) both times. In the feature, with a slimmed field of cars, Rex got out to the early lead, but Royce was hot on his tail. With 7 to go, Royce had issues and was not able to finish to the race as he went to the pit area. A late caution flag would fly for Paul Sockwell (67), who apparently lost an engine, and would leave 2 laps left for Rex Rossier. John Gilbertson (88) restarted in 2nd and stayed with Rex until jumping the curb in turn 3 with 1 to go, which put him to the back. Rex would go on for the win with Darrell Paasch (89), Charlie Schwoch (29) and John Gilbertson finishing top 4 and the only 4 left at the finish. Follow TUNDRA Vintage Racing Series on Facebook for more information on this class.

The Late Models were the main event on Monday and 35 drivers were selected to teams named for Central Wisconsin Racing Legends. All points and lineups were organized based on the driver’s rounds that they were drafted in. In qualification, points and order of starting position in the round races would be set. It was the 1st overall pick and last to qualify Ty Majeski (91) taking fast time. Seven heat races would run, again by draft rounds and Jeremy Lepak (40), Brandon Selle (98), Frank Nitzke (18), Corey Jankowski (31), Wyatt Brooks (33), Justin Mondeik (44) and Darek Gress (00) would all find victory circle and get the best score for their teams.

In the first feature, the Back 61, drivers drafted in rounds 5, 6 and 7 put on a show for 61 hard fought laps. Monte Gress (80) lead the first laps until Wyatt Blashe (78) snagged the top spot. Caution flew with 48 to go when Monte spun and almost collected Jordan Theil (2). On the restart, Blashe and Theil battled back and forth numerous times with many laps side by side until Blashe was finally able to clear and pull away from the field. Blashe would go on to win, Justin Mondeik would fight his way up to finish 2nd, Theil 3rd, Mike Olson, with hood damage, took 4th and Darek Gress rounded out the top 5.

The second feature, the Marzofka 91, would be the drivers drafted in rounds 1 through 4. Due to the dice roll by Ty Majeski, the first round picks would line up in the first 5 spots and follow in order from there. Mike Litchfield (44) started on the pole and led the first many laps. Jim Sauter Jr. (45) and Jeremy Lepak both took turns trying to get up to Litchfield but were not able to do so. Twenty laps into the race, Majeski had made his way into 2nd and started working the bumper of Litchfield. With 63 laps to go, Mark Mackesy (12) spun to the infield without a caution and would continue. Caution would come out soon after though as contact between the 14 car of Eugene Gregorich Jr. and Darren Jackson (2) sent the 2 car spinning in turns 3 and 4. On the restart, it would be Mike Litchfield and Ty Majeski taking the top two spots and that lead to a fast and furious fight for the lead position and would allow Dalton Zehr (7-11) to close in. Another yellow flag would bunch up the field as Natalie Decker (04) would spin after the whole field checked up in front of her and Steve Litchfield (32). After the restart with 29 to go, it was still Mike Litchfield in front of the field with Majeski and Zehr right there. Majeski would finally work his way past Litchfield with 21 laps to go until another caution would wave with 15 to go. This time it was Frank Nitzke and Mike Litchfield making contact. On the final restart, Majeski got a great jump and bolted out to a good sized lead, with 4 to go, Zehr got close enough to Majeski to start applying pressure. With two laps left Zehr would stick his nose to the inside and make the late race pass on Majeski for lead and would go on to pick up the checkered flag. Majeski ended up 2nd, Lepak fought back to 3rd, Corey Jankowski had a great run up to 4th and Eugene Gregorich took home 5th position. After all the team points were tallied, it would be Team Reffner who ended up taking the overall points championship with a team of Ty Majeski, Colin Reffner, Mark Mackesy, Braison Bennett, Jordan Theil, Justin Mondeik and Dave Neitzke.

The next race will be our first regular race night for 2016 at Golden Sands Speedway and will be on Friday, June 10th. It’s Ho-Chunk Gaming Lucky 21 night. Late Models, Super Stocks, Pure Stocks and 4-Cylinder classes will be racing. The Race for the Bling will also be starting so if any ladies want to see what they can do behind the wheel of a racecar, contact the speedway. Gates open at 4:30, Time Trials at 6:30 and Racing at 7:45. Make sure to check www.gssraces.com and our Facebook page for updates and information.

Share this post